The Marquis Giuseppe Scicluna bought Palazzo Parisio in 1898 and it is through him that the property received its greatest renovation, which fortunately still survives till today largely in its original form. The Marquis Scicluna, a wealthy Maltese banker and merchant, created a showcase for Maltese art which closes the eclectic style of the 19th century propagated by Italian artists on the island.
The property dates further back in history and its legacy of owners add to its prestige. The first reference of the site dates to the time of the Order of the Knights of St John, when it was used by Grand Master Don Antonio Manoel de Vilhena who ruled the Order between 1722 and 1736. The Grand Master used his property in Naxxar as his hunting lodge; where he would take a break from the bustling life in Valletta. The Marquis Scicluna retained some elements which date to the time of the Grand Master Vilhena such as the Orangerie and some architectural elements found in the garden.
Driven by his vision, the Marquis Scicluna put together a team of artists, sculptors and architects, headed by renowned Italian architect Carlo Sada. Sada is renowned for designing the Teatro Massimo Bellini in Catania and is responsible for designing rooms such as the Ballroom in Palazzo Parisio.
The project began in the first months of 1900 and the majority of the work was finished in 1906. The palace was never completely finished due to the untimely death of the Marquis Scicluna on the 14th February 1907.